Pocket Review: Return To Rifts

2013-12-15_112347

I recently returned to the MMO game Rifts. The online RPG game is made and produced by a company called TRION.  Rifts originally launched in early 2011 to much fan fair and a huge community.  This did not last long and within a year, the community had shrunk to dangerous levels.  Early this year, they relaunched the game essentially Free To Play.  This means that anyone can download the game, make a character, and play continuously without ever spending money.

2013-12-07_213358

This sort of business practice is not new in the MMO industry. I will soon add my opinions on this in an upcoming editorial.  This sort of model often adds volumes of unworthy players much like a church having a sign out front saying FREE BEER.  The new players of the game tend to be unruly, foul mouth, and exuberant in their defense of all manners of non-gaming opinions.  My advice is find a good guild and turn off basic chatting in the game — do it!  Don’t look back.

Besides the poor community, which every Free To Play game has, the game is typical in most fantasy MMOs with a fun content and many things to do including questing, crafting, raiding, player housing, and open chatting (although I advise against this).

I am having a lot of fun in the game, although my attention span for generic fantasy worlds usually lasts three months and I then get tired of the the monotony of grinding.  Certainly there is much to do in this world and they do then to keep things up in fixes, patches, and some new content.

Like all games that have been around for more than a couple of years, it is the latter content that gets the love.  The game allows players to level characters to 60th level.  I have not seen what end game content is like, but everything seems pretty much the same up to 40th level.

Supposedly there is a large PvP portion to the game as well, but I have not tried it.

I also haven’t spent any real money in the game yet, but could easily find myself doing so.  EVERYTHING is for sale in this game.

 

 

  • Game Play: B
  • Graphics: A-
  • Community: B-
  • Long Term Play: B-
  • Four Month Outlook: C

Play Rifts for Free

2 Comments

  1. 1-29 chat is pretty rough, and turning it off is a great idea. I’m enjoying being back in Rift, having taken a year hiatus. One of the things that I appreciate about Trion’s approach to subscriptions is the fact that they reward you for subscribing, instead of penalizing you for not subscribing. Here’s a slightly dated blurb about their Loyalty Program: http://community.riftgame.com/en/2013/05/20/introducing-loyalty/?utm_campaign=f2p_loyalty_may13&utm_medium=email&utm_source=email&utm_content=loyalty_blog_text

    Also, I found that the my key for enjoying a game long term is to find a good group of like minded people to adventure and socialize with. You can find me at Bruun@Wolfsbane if you’d like to chat or group up. I’m currently in the upper 40’s, but love to mentor down.

Leave a Reply

