Return to Diablo III

Screenshot010

Every gamer has heard of Diablo.  It has been in the lexicon of gaming for nearly twenty years.  The original Diablo came out in 1996, followed by its sequel Diablo II in 2000.  Both games generated huge amounts of buzz and millions of players spent far too much time playing the game.  How many people can recall the late Friday night games that turned into Saturday afternoons?

For such a fantastic franchise, it was astounding that it would take 12 more years for Diablo III to arrive.  So much hype had been built up in the game that it was a gigantic release in 2012.  With it came a lot of baggage that didn’t sit well with gamers:

  1. Internet Authentication
  2. No Modding
  3. Real Money Transfer
  4. Horrible class abilities
  5. Stilted Game Play
  6. Dreadful story

Screenshot011

I remember playing the game when it first came out.  I was a huge fan of Diablo I and Diablo II.  I spent 15 years playing the game and running mods for them in my basement for friends.  We carved up that demon more times than the Super Bowl.  So when I got my hands on the game, I was very disappointed.  All of the six reasons above kept me from buying it.

Then for two years Blizzard kept the price near $50, which again never made me all that interested.  Time and time again, I returned to the game hoping that bug fixes and tweaks to the game would change my mind.  Up until now, that never happened.

Screenshot012

Finally some light at the end of the tunnel occurred in March of 2014 when it was announced that the debacle known as Real Money Exchange was going to be closed and that a super patch would restructure the game to allow for better loot without having to spend money on their auction.

The real problem with the entire idea of selling imaginary items was that the system never worked. Players had to spend hundreds of hours simply wading through a million monsters to find one item that they could not use but might sell for enough real money or ingame gold to allow them to buy a similar piece that could be used.

Screenshot014

Aside from the horrible RMT was just the dreadful replayability of the game and the various levels of difficulty that strangled the game.  Much of this was changed with the Super Patch.

Most notable was the Loot 2.0 patch which changed the very nature of how magical items were collected.  Now it was possible to find decent items for the class you were playing or use those magic items to buy or craft items that were usable.

Screenshot019

Another great change was finally lowering the price point of the game to $20 making it much more affordable for those like myself who seek quality gaming experience and cut rate pricing.

The game is 100 percent better than what it was. It is sad that two years had to go by.  In that time the game genre has moved on, overtaking the ground breaking experiences in the game that took 12 years to come out.  Many other games, like Path of Exiles, does just as well to satisfy the Diablo urge and nearly free.

There are a number of interesting aspects to the game that I will finally get to enjoy.  It is, of course, Diablo — the game that I got me through my early years of gaming.  Added to that is the ability to play either a male or female, new classes, a crafting system, a better story line, and hours and hours of monster hacking.

Screenshot003

If you haven’t tried the game in a while, I offer you another trip down memory lane.

I will say that logging into their Battle.net can be a veritable chore. I am unsure if it is because of their security, but it took me hours to finally get registered and download the game.

Leave a Reply

