Thief’s Challenge

Published in 1993, this was the first and only TSR Dungeons & Dragons module that I exclusively wrote.  I also had a hand in developing two other products for TSR:  The Castle Guide and The Equipment Guide.

It has been more than twenty years since I wrote the adventure and many of memories have faded as to why or how I even landed this contract.  I vaguely remember living in an apartment over a barber shop in Comstock Park Michigan.  I was living with a room mate and best friend Rick Slawson at the time.  The funny thing is that at that time computers were exceedingly basic, I want to say it was written on a program called Ami for either the Commodore 64 or perhaps the first edition of Windows on an old ’86 processor computer.

The editor at the time was Bruce Heard, or at least he was my point person.  I have met up with him again after all these years and although he is no longer with Wizard’s of the Coast, he still dabbles in games — once it is in your blood, you can never forget about it.  I recall him saying that the adventure should be like the movie To Catch a Thief by the imminently famous director Alfred Hitchcock.

I don’t remember anything else about it, to be truthful.  And it has been at least 20 years since I read through the module. The really stunning tidbit is that I still have gamers come up to me or send me emails saying how much they liked this module.  As a person with a foggy memory, I chuckle as they know more about the story than I do.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thief%27s_Challenge

A special request to any of my friends or to anyone finding this article:  I am trying to get into wikipedia as a author or game designer.  I have tried myself to write my own biography, but Wikipedia frowns on that and after being rejected four times I have given up.  The process of adding an article is relatively easy, mostly if you have done this sort of thing before — if anyone can pick up the gauntlet/challenge, I would be indebted to you.  There is plenty of information online, in books (about gaming), and newpaper articles on my gaming career that it shouldn’t require a ton of research to pose this.  If you want to try and write up a Wiki entry on me, let me know and I can provide other information.

Leave a Reply

